What is an EGTC?

An ETCG...to erase borders.

European Territorial Cooperation Groups (ETCGs) aim to facilitate and promote cross-border, trans-national and inter-regional cooperation.  Instituted in 2006 by the European Parliament and the Council of Europe, these are cooperative groups with legal status. They act in the name of their members (States, regional and local authorities and public law bodies), from at least two EU Member States.
A Convention defines the tasks and competencies of ETCGs. Their creation does not bring about any transfer of competencies. Their members entrust them with tasks designed to facilitate territorial cooperation to strengthen economic and social cohesion. With this perspective in mind, ETCGs may be entrusted with the implementation ofprojects co-funded by the European Community, or the carrying out of cross-border cooperation actions , with or without the involvement of the EU. Barriers to territorial cooperation are thus overcome thanks to ETCGs.

The Eurometropolis: one of the 37 ETCGs in Europe

There are currently 37 ETCGs in Europe. We can distinguish between four types of group. Some act as a structure for a European network or implement a territorial cooperation project or programme. Others have a governance approach. This is the case for the Lille-Kortrijk-Tournai Eurometropolis. Indeed, its 14 members have dialogued and worked together to define and set up a system of governance which is adapted to a polycentric, tri-cultural and bi-national metropolis.
With this perspective in mind, priority tasks are set. Firstly, Eurométropole is an arena for cooperation, dialogue and political debate, bringing together all the competent institutions.  Secondly, it aims to foster cross-border coherence over the whole of its territory and make the daily lives of its inhabitants as pleasant as possible.Finally, the Eurometropolis facilitates, supports and carries out cross-border projects.


Consult the committee of the regions' EGCT platform