Who are we?

A metropolis of European standing

Created on 28 January 2008, the Lille-Kortrijk-Tournai Eurometropolis is a European Territorial Cooperation Group. It brings together 152 French and Belgian communes.

The Eurometropolis Lille - Kortrijk – Tournai brings together all French and Belgian government levels via 14 institutions, working together to erase the "border effect" and make day-to-day life easier for its 2.1 million inhabitants.

EUROMETROPOLIS was the first European Grouping for Territorial Cooperation (EGTC) established in Europe, culminating a long tradition of cross-border cooperation.

EUROMETROPOLIS is a hub for all cross-border information, activities and services, supporting their exploitation and development and sometimes even adapting them. Institutions, companies, artists, associations and clubs, various organisations, etc. are all invited to coordinate and pool their projects, allowing them to speak with one voice.

EUROMETROPOLIS is instrumental in developing concrete ways helping people to better study, work, travel, indulge in cultural activities, visit each other, have fun, participate in society, etc.; and helping companies to innovate, invest, share ideas, etc.


Located between France and Belgium, between town and country, the Eurometropolis Lille - Kortrijk - Tournai has a wealth of opportunities to offer, in a bilingual (French and Dutch) and multicultural region full of different landscapes. The 3500 km² region embraces the Lille metropolis, the southern and central parts of West Flanders, and Western Hainaut.

Effective and coherent cross-border cooperation 

The 14 institutions, who together decided on the creation of the Lille-Kortrijk-Tournai Eurometropolis, share one objective: to strengthen all aspects of cooperation within the territory. Individuals from France, Flanders and Wallonia thus join forces to initiate and support the realisation of common interest projects together. These cover varied areas: transport, tourism, the environment, etc.

Six cooperation bodies have been set up within Eurométropole: The Presidency, the Assembly, the Board, the Cross-Border Agency, the Thematic Working Groups and the Conference of Mayors and Burgomasters. Aware of the regions cultural particularity, the Eurometropolis has adopted two fundamental operating principles. Firstly, each body respects the double parity between France and Belgium and hence between French-speaking and Dutch-speaking individuals. Finally, the application of bilingualism is guaranteed.